Forgiving someone does not mean a “continuation” of the relationship.

Whether it is personal, an associate, business or simply causal; forgiving someone does not equate to them staying around. I’ve learned about many people in all 5 states that I have resided. There have been a handful of people that I have purposely cut ties with because of character traits that I can not personally associate with; which is entirely my choice.

For example, there was a woman whom lived in my 1 bedroom town-home. I invited her to stay with me because her and her then, 1 year old son, were homeless on the streets of Atlanta, GA. She of course acted friendly for at LEAST 2 weeks before her character began to show negative and incomprehensible signs. I kept ignoring the red flags: always starting arguments with me, always feeling “inferior”, always making jokes, always comparing, etc. The list could go on… ANYWAYS, I chose to ignore these signs which ultimately led to us getting physical and me leaving to move back home to Seattle.

If I were as forgiving as people would like me to be, she’d probably still be in my life somehow. Whether that be a Facebook friend, or follower on Instagram. But, I refused ANY contact with her after our altercation. I refused to respond to her emails. I refused to accept her false letter of apology because it was very demeaning and sarcastic. I no longer wanted her in my life.

Did I lose anything by cutting her completely off? NOPE. Do I regret burning that bridge? NOPE. Because I KNOW what I deserve out of friendships. I know what I need out of friends. I don’t need any added stressors from people who consider themselves my “friend”.

I choose my friends very wisely. Now, don’t get me wrong, I give a lot of people the benefit of the doubt. If there is a person that I know wasn’t purposely being malice or disrespectful towards me, I consider their heart. 

Love thyself more than you Love relations.

  • Don’t settle with any kind of “friend”.
  • Don’t accept things that affect you negativey!
  •  Signs of a Toxic FRIENDSHIP.
  • Don’t push things under the carpet.
  • Know yourself (Keep getting to know yourself).
  • Don’t let people sell you “loyalty
    • I have met some manipulative wo(men) who make you feel obligated to continue a friendship just because they feel they deserve it
  • BE YOU! UNAPOLOGETIC ALLY
  • Know what you deserve out of a person
  • Listen to your heart, it’ll rarely lead you wrong

 

 

Know that you are more important than that other person, they are just meeting you, you’ve known yourself your whole life!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

