Discrimination 

My employer, who is an African American woman, called me today offering me a position as a Banquet server at a hotel. It pays more and offers more hours… Possibly 
She also said, “Those pigtails that you wore yesterday won’t be appropriate. We sent a (black male) with dreads and the hotel emailed us back with complaints about his appearance. Those braids you had in were appropriate. (photo below)


But the pigtails that you wore with your natural hair were not. If you could find a different hairstyle for this very “high end” banquet, that’d be great. OH and I don’t mean to offend. (Photo below) 

   I am offended. I always look, dress and behave professionally!!!! I don’t see how one hairstyle vs the next disqualifies me…. PLEASE EXPLAIN……….. Ugh, being black, educated and NATURALLY ME, is so hard in America…. 

6 comments

  1. thedailylifestyleblog · December 11, 2015

    It’s very sad that we are not allowed to not wear our natural hair while working. I think its very disrespectful of people to just say we need to change our hair style. It’s who we are. It’s what we are born with. 😦 I don’t like that at all…

    Liked by 1 person

    • bonnieair · December 11, 2015

      Exactly! I told her that I was offended and she nonchalantly said “I was just trying to help you.” How ignorant. What hurt me most is that she is a brown skin woman with hair like mine…… I will never get over it

      Liked by 1 person

      • thedailylifestyleblog · December 11, 2015

        Wow! It’s even worse when you have your own race saying things like this. I wish we would be accepted for who we are.

        Like

      • bonnieair · December 11, 2015

        And respected for who we are! Especially because her higher up recommended me for the banquet services…. I want to bring the situation to the Vice President and not be condescended… Pray for me!!! I kind of need this job and I’m tired of having to start over

        Liked by 1 person

      • thedailylifestyleblog · December 11, 2015

        Stick in there Hunny… I hope everything goes good and you get the chance to speck your mind with out being penalized for it…

        Like

      • bonnieair · December 11, 2015

        Thank ya sistagirl! Blessings

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

